Skip to content
Radish — back to home

Home › FAQ

Frequently asked

What we get asked most often.

Price, personal data, connectivity, where the figures come from. The answers are written as close as possible to what the app actually does — including where that suits us less well. Most of these questions come down to one: what exactly does a free nutrition app pay its bills with? The answer is below, in full.

The app and its price

What is free, and what is not

What is Radish?

Radish is a free calorie and nutrient counter for Android and iPhone, used without an account. Every food shows the public table its value comes from (CIQUAL from ANSES, USDA FoodData Central…) and its record code; with no table behind it, it shows “Radish estimate” or “Brand data”. The app also tracks 11 vitamins and minerals.

Is Radish really free?

Yes for the core of the app: the food diary, barcode scanning, the Nutri-Score, macros, micronutrients and recipes, with no cap on meals, no advertising, no account and no card details to enter.

Two paid options exist: a Premium subscription, which adds AI included, long-term trends and CSV export of the diary; and a one-off Lifetime purchase, where the AI runs on your own API key (BYOK) rather than being included. Without a key, Lifetime works without AI. The full JSON backup of your data, re-importable into the app, stays free: only the convenience of a spreadsheet is paid for, never the way out.

Do I have to create an account?

No. There is no sign-up, no email to hand over, no password. You open the app and log your first meal.

Which phones does Radish run on?

On Android through Google Play and on iPhone through the App Store. The nutri-track.fr website does not run the app: it presents it and points to the stores.

Your data

What stays on your phone, and what leaves it

Where is my data stored?

Your diary stays on your phone — never sent to our servers (except AI or barcode scanning, if you use them). Exceptions you trigger yourself: barcode scanning (the product code goes to Open Food Facts) and AI meal analysis (the text or photo you choose to send). Anonymised usage statistics are also sent to Google (in the EU, only if you agree); your diary, foods and weight never are. Everything else is never sent to our servers (except AI or barcode scanning, if you use them). There is no account, so no server holding your diary, and no sync between devices.

One consequence worth knowing: if you uninstall the app without exporting, your history goes with it.

Row by row, here is what a calorie tracker with no account keeps on your phone, and what leaves it.

Does Radish sell my data?

No: no resale, no advertising, no ad trackers, no advertising identifier and no ad personalization. The detail, provider by provider, is in the privacy policy.

Does it work without a connection?

Counting, recipes and the Nutri-Score work without a connection. Two features need the network, and only when you trigger them: scanning a product absent from the bundled database, which sends nothing but the barcode to Open Food Facts, and the optional AI assistant, which sends the meal you choose to have read to a third-party provider. Anonymised usage statistics are also sent to Google (in the EU, only if you agree); your diary, foods and weight never are.

We do not write that the app is “100 % offline”: that would be false.

What makes Radish a privacy friendly app?

Things you can point at, rather than a slogan. There is no sign up and no email required, so there is no account for a diary to be attached to. Your data stays on your phone: the log is written on the device and never sent to our servers (except AI or barcode scanning, if you use them) — a barcode lookup to Open Food Facts and the optional AI assistant only run when you trigger them. Anonymised usage statistics are also sent to Google (in the EU, only if you agree); your diary, foods and weight never are. There is no advertising and no ad trackers. And the way out is free — a full JSON backup you can re-import.

What we do not claim: that nothing ever leaves the phone. Scanning a product our bundled database does not carry sends the barcode to Open Food Facts, and the optional AI sends the meal you ask it to read to a third-party provider. Both happen only when you trigger them.

The figures

Where they come from, and how to prove us wrong

Where do the nutrition values come from?

From public databases, never from in-house estimates: the ANSES Ciqual table as the primary source, USDA FoodData Central as a top-up when a food is not in the French table, and Open Food Facts for scanned branded products.

Where a value does not exist, the app writes “not reported” rather than showing a zero. Full detail on the sources page.

How can I check a figure shown by the app?

Every generic food carries its Ciqual record number. Type the food name into our public lookup tool, note its 5-digit code, then search for that code on ciqual.anses.fr and compare the values per 100 g.

653 Ciqual records can be browsed this way.

Is the Radish Nutri-Score the real Nutri-Score?

It is calculated with the public Santé publique France algorithm, from the composition of the food.

On a branded product, the score depends on the values declared in Open Food Facts: if the product entry is incomplete, the score can differ from the one printed on the packaging. That is a limitation of the data, not an editorial choice.

Can I report a nutrition value that looks wrong?

Yes, and it helps. Write to us with the food name as it appears in the app and, if you have it, its record number. A confirmed error is fixed at the source and ships in an app update.

Targets and nutrients

What the app calculates, and what it does not decide

Who decides my calorie target?

The target the app suggests is a reference point calculated from the information you give it, for a general adult population. You can change it by hand, but not below a safety floor: 1,200 kcal a day for a woman, 1,500 for a man, 1,400 if sex is not given. Every route to changing it goes through that floor, manual entry included.

For a profile under 18, an unconfirmed age, or a declared pregnancy or period of breastfeeding, the app shows no numeric target at all: it offers to log meals and points to a healthcare professional.

This reference point is not a prescription and does not replace the advice of a healthcare professional. Radish provides neither diagnosis nor medical advice.

How many vitamins and minerals are tracked?

Eleven vitamins and minerals. When the food comes from our public databases, the value comes from them and the source is shown.

When you add a food our databases do not know (photo, scan), micronutrients may be estimated — they then carry an “estimated” label on screen.

When the table gives no content for a nutrient, the app shows “not reported”: never a zero. That missing value does not go into the daily total, so your actual intake may have been higher than what is shown.

This is why a daily total is a minimum, not a measurement — a low figure does not mean a deficiency. Only a healthcare professional can establish a deficiency, through the appropriate laboratory test.

Features

What the app actually has, feature by feature

Is Radish a calorie counter app or a macro tracker?

Both, in the same app. It is a calorie counter app: you log a meal, it counts the calories. It is a macro tracker at the same time — protein, carbs and fat counted in grams against a daily goal, and protein can take the main ring on the home screen if that is what you are following.

Used as a macro counter alone, you can leave the calorie figure aside; nothing in the app forces it. And it stays a nutrition tracker past the four big numbers, since eleven vitamins and minerals are counted as well. What it is not is a coaching programme: it is a food logging app that adds up what you tell it, and shows the table each figure came from.

Is there a meal planner?

Yes. Radish has a meal planner: you place meals across the week from your recipes, and the app turns that week into a shopping list, sorted by aisle. Planning by hand is free, with no cap.

One paid option sits next to it: having the app generate the week for you. The first generated day is free; generating the rest of the week is part of the paid tier.

Can Radish work as a protein tracker or a water tracker?

Both, and both are free. As a protein tracker, the diary counts protein in grams against a daily goal worked out from your profile, and protein can replace calories as the main ring on the home screen. As a water tracker, a card on the home screen counts what you drink against a daily goal in litres that you set yourself.

Neither one leaves the phone: both are counted on the device, with no account behind them.

Is there a weekly report?

There is a free weekly screen: your average calories over completed days, how many days out of seven were counted, the share of the week's entries that carry a source, and a bar per day. A day you skipped is drawn as a dotted bar and stays out of the average.

The more detailed weekly report — the weekly and monthly recaps, long-term trends — is part of the Premium subscription. We would rather say so here than have you find the lock in the app.

Can Radish scan food labels?

It scans the barcode printed on the label, and that is free and unlimited. If the product is already in the database bundled with the app, nothing leaves the phone; if it is not, the barcode alone — nothing else — goes to Open Food Facts, which needs a connection.

What it does not do: read the nutrition panel from a photo. There is no text recognition of a printed label in the app. To scan food labels in that sense, today, you would be scanning their barcode instead. The optional AI can read a photo of a meal, which is a different thing and is a paid option.

Is Radish an alternative to paid calorie apps?

For the everyday log, yes. The diary, the search and the barcode scan are free and uncapped, with no account to create: on those three, Radish is a calorie counter without subscription — which is usually what people are after when their tracker goes paywall.

Being an alternative to paid calorie apps does not mean everything is free. AI meal recognition, the long-term recaps and CSV export sit behind an optional Premium plan. We would rather write that here than have you find the lock in the app.

Is Radish a calorie app that shows sources?

That is the whole point of it. Each food carrying sourced nutrition data displays the table it was taken from and its record number inside that table: cited sources you can open at the publisher, not a badge we award ourselves.

The reference is CIQUAL, the official food table published by ANSES, topped up by USDA FoodData Central and four national tables (BLS, AUSNUT, CoFID, CNF). Where no table has a value, the app prints “unknown” rather than a figure we invented: of the 19,462 foods, 3,511 are identified by a CIQUAL or USDA record code and most of the others carry a record from one of the four national tables, counted on 04/10/2026; 720 are flagged as estimates in the app.

Does the app work out how many calories per day I need?

It proposes a figure, and you can replace it. From the profile you enter — sex, age, height, weight, activity level and goal — the app estimates a daily calorie target for a general adult population, using the Mifflin-St Jeor equation by default: the equation the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics holds as the most reliable for healthy adults when indirect calorimetry is not available. You can then set your own number instead.

That number has a floor. No setting path, manual entry included, can take the target below 1,200 kcal a day for a woman, 1,500 for a man, or 1,400 when sex is not filled in. And for a profile under 18, an age that has not been confirmed, or a declared pregnancy or breastfeeding, the app shows no calorie figure at all: it offers to log meals and points you to a health professional.

It is an estimate, not a prescription: it does not replace the advice of a health professional, and Radish makes no diagnosis and gives no medical advice. If counting calories is not right for you, the “Day without meals” setting removes the target and the reminders entirely, and you can keep logging what you eat. If you would rather see the calculation before trusting it, our guide on how many calories per day walks through it step by step.

Why believe us

We have no customer testimonials to show you. Here is what we have instead.

Four things you can check without trusting us.

  • Permanent identifier

    Our generic values come from a citable dataset: DOI 10.57745/RDMHWY, ANSES, Open Licence (Etalab) 2.0.

  • Declared vintage

    Ciqual 2025 table, updated 19/11/2025. The date appears on every food page.

  • Checkable one by one

    653 Ciqual records for generic foods, browsable at /table-ciqual/, code included, each of them re-checkable at ANSES.

  • The method is written down

    What is sourced, what is estimated, what we refuse to display: sources and methodology.

We detect your device to point you at the right store.

Last updated: 3 October 2026.